Jean-Yves Le Gall

Job Title
Former IAF President
Jean-Yves Le Gall is an engineer and scientist whose career spans more than 40 years devoted to shaping and leading space programmes in France, Europe and around the world. He continues to contribute to several international bodies working in the realms of space and high tech. From 2013 to 2021, he was President of the French space agency Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES), Chair of the Council of the European Space Agency (ESA), Chair of the Administrative Board of the European GNSS Agency (GSA) in charge of Galileo and President of the International Astronautical Federation (IAF). He previously held posts within the French national scientific research agency CNRS, at several French ministries, and at Novespace, Starsem and then Arianespace, where he was CEO from 2001 to 2013. He is a member of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) and of the French Academy of Technologies. In 2001, he received the Astronautics Prize from the French Association of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AAAF). He was named Via Satellite magazine’s 2005 Satellite Executive of the Year and received a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007 from the Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications Council (APSCC). In 2011 he was inducted into the Hall of Fame of the Society of Satellite Professionals International (SPPI) and awarded the Icarus Prize from the French association of professional aerospace journalists (AJPAE). In 2014 he was distinguished with a Laureate Award from Aviation Week & Space Technology magazine, in 2018 the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) presented him with the International von Kármán Wings Award and in 2021 he received the IAF Excellence in International Cooperation Award. Jean-Yves Le Gall holds the ranks of Commander of the Legion of Honour and Commander of the National Order of Merit. He has also been awarded the Order of Friendship by the Russian Federation, the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star, by the Government of Japan, and the Chinese Government Friendship Award. He is Doctor Honoris Causa of Technion, the Israel Institute of Technology.


09:45 / 10:00
Grand Ballroom

Space Enablers

The New World Space Order by Jean-Yves Le Gall